Contempo Culture Potpourri

I’m going to do a potpourri of contempo things in this post today but I promise you it isn’t going to be one of those dank, grandma-smelly potpourris. It’s gonna be the vanilla-nutmeg lavender stuff all the classy white people buy for their bathrooms. Scout’s honor.

I woke up at noon today. Why? I was up late last night, completely enamored by a woman named Sarah Kay and a man named Phil Kaye: two practitioners of the spoken word, the performance art of poetry. (Like Def Jam, for those of you who have seen it.) As Fate would have it, the two even share the last name, and siblings with the same names…too crazy.

Their stuff is incredible.

Phil Kaye:

Sarah Kay Ted Talks:

In the art world today, I found myself transfixed by the complementary pastels that fill Jardley Jean-Louis’ illustrations. Her understanding of colors permeates all of his work. Subtle hues that somehow come across more vibrant than even the loudest of magentas and yellows.

In the realm of novelty items, I stumbled upon these adorable photo-accessories today.

The Juice Box Camera at the Photojojo Store!

Buy the Canon Camera Lens Mugs at the Photojojo Store!

Buy the USB Film Roll at the Photojojo Store!

Music:

Beautifully filmed, warm-feeling, and intimate, Wilcox Sessions has been a love of mine for a year now.
This is one of my favorite bands that they’ve covered. This girl’s voice is honey


2 Comments on “Contempo Culture Potpourri”

  1. Jardley says:

    Gah, why didn’t you link me, and let me know I had someone who enjoyed my work. Yeah I found this while googling myself. (can you tell the narcissism is oozing out?) But, thank you, thank you for the love. (Im tearing up on the inside)

    And btw I’m actually a female.

  2. JP says:

    Ahh! I’m so sorry. But that’s even better! The world needs more talented female artists. And completely understandable. I think everyone is guilty of googling themselves from time to time…haha. Just trying to spread the word though, your work is incredible!


Leave a Reply

